top of page
  • Writer's pictureSteven Pluto

Deep Purple, Whoosh! (2020)

Updated: Nov 21, 2022

Line-up / Musicians

- Ian Gillan / vocals

- Steve Morse / guitars

- Don Airey / keyboards

- Roger Glover / bass

- Ian Paice / drums

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Throw My Bones (3:39)

2. Drop the Weapon (4:24)

3. We're All the Same in the Dark (3:44)

4. Nothing at All (4:43)

5. No Need to Shout (3:31)

6. Step by Step (3:35)

7. What the What (3:33)

8. The Long Way Round (5:40)

9. The Power of the Moon (4:09)

10. Remission Possible (1:39)

11. Man Alive (5:36)

12. And the Address (3:36)

13. Dancing in My Sleep (3:52)

Deep Purple are back with their 21st studio album, Whoosh! The thirteen-track record is the third successive outing to be produced by none other than Bob Ezrin ( Lou Reed, Alice Cooper, Kiss, Pink Floyd).

With Whoosh!, Ezrin tastefully continues to update the bands sound by incorporating blues and progressive rock elements into the mix. The album sounds modern without betraying the band's classic rock roots.

While I did enjoy listening to the album in its entirety. I thought there was a minor dip in quality on the 50s piano-driven track ;What The What. Other than that Whoosh! is a really great record with numerous highlights including the funky album opener; Throw My Bones, the dreamy mid-tempo; Nothing at All, the atmospheric; Man Alive, the prog-rock ;The Power Of The Moon, the rockers; The Long Way Round and Dancing In My Sleep.

Whoosh! is a success in the fact that these legendary musicians who have nothing to prove, feel the desire to express themselves artistically. This third collaboration between Erzin and Purple defy the odds by offering a timeless dose of rock n' roll to the people who insist “they don’t make music like they used to". Highly recommended.

12 views0 comments


bottom of page