top of page

Joe Bonamassa: Redemption (2018)

Band Members:

Joe Bonamassa / guitars and vocals

Anton Fig / drums

Michael Rhodes / bass

Reese Wynans / keyboards

Lee Thornburg, Paulie Cerra / horn

Gary Pinto / harmony vocals

Mahalia Barnes, Jade McRae, Juanita Tippins / background singers

Kenny Greenberg / guitars

Doug Lancio / guitars

Redemption Track-Listing:

1. Evil Mama 2. King Bee Shakedown

3. Molly O’ 4. Deep In The Blues Again

5. Self-Inflicted Wounds 6. Pick Up The Pieces

7. The Ghost Of Macon Jones 8. Just ‘Cos You Can Don’t Mean You Should

9. Redemption 10. I’ve Got Some Mind Over What Matters

11. Stronger Now In Broken Places

12. Love Is A Gamble

Blues rock guitarist, singer and songwriter, Joe Bonamassa returns with his 13th studio release, Redemption. This 12 track record is produced by Kevin Shirley (Aerosmith, Iron Maiden, Journey, Black Country Communion).

Once again, Redemption showcases Bonamassa’s ability to effortlessly blend all things old school with modern Blues mixed up with the alluring traits of Jazz, Soul, and R&B.

Redemption may just be Bonamassa most heartfelt blues-based album of his carrier. It is obvious in songs like Self-Inflicted Wounds, Pick Up The Pieces, Redemption, I’ve Got Some Mind Over What Matters, Stronger Now In Broken Places and Love Is A Gamble. Joe is finding refuge in his music to cope with inner torment.

All the songs on this album are well played, written and produced. Redemption is another milestone in an already impressive legacy of recordings.

All the tracks are simply outstanding, but without doubt the highlight on Redemption is the haunting ballade Self-Inflicted Wounds.This track will be a staple in Bonamassa’s repertoire for years to come.

With Redemption, Joe Bonamassa once again proves indubitably that he is the current king of the Blues. He set an industry standard that may just be too high for many to achieve but it is one hell of a goal to reach for. Highly Recommended.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page